More student shared language change links

Alex shared this:

and Sophie found this:

I'd be really interested to hear your thoughts on these. How useful do you think they are for A-level students? How would you evaluate how reliable the information is likely to be? Which parts are most relevant to our A-level course, and which are not particularly useful? How might you use the information in the exam?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More student shared language change links

  1. Nick says:

    I liked your protolanguage construction, Alex. Very interesting. It was almost as if I were back in my history of language class I had taken a few years ago. You explain the Great Vowel Shift and everything about the dative, accusative, genitive, nominative, etc. I really enjoyed looking through it. Apheses and epentheses and so forth brought back bad memories of that class because I didn’t do well in it. I dropped out of it, but it was somewhat interesting. I did’t like the professor was the main reason for dropping it. Keep up the good work for a 17-yr-old kid.

  2. Nick says:

    Hmmm…I wonder what the language will look like in 200 years or 500 years. You won’t have to worry about a lot of stuff that you do now. I bet we see a reduction in declension and my guess is you won’t have to conjugate any verb in third person singular anymore. The only verb to conjugate will be “to be” and definitely a reduction in the declension. I see pronouns disappearing, plurals dropping off like “deer/deer” for singular/plural, and so on and so forth. What do you predict? Come on. If you constructed that project on protolanguage, you have to have a premonition of the language, say 500 years from now?

  3. Anthony Heald says:

    Hi Nick,Thanks for dropping in on the blog. The links were shared by my students on our private class message board, not actually created by them. The one you were referring to was produced by a Linguistics professor at Carleton University in Canada.For the English Language course they are studying, some of the details in those resources are not particularly relevant and I’m trying to get them to use online resources for research & revision while evaluating them critically both for reliability and relevance. I also want them to see themselves as part of a wider learning community. I learn so much from interaction with people (like you!) on blogs and forums and twitter and so on, but it’s a bit of an uphill struggle getting some of them to see the value of spending a little time going beyond what we have time to cover in class.Alex and Sarah, however, are among a few honourable exceptions to that, so I’m sure they will be interested in engaging with your interesting predictions on the future of English. I’m itching to pitch in straight away, but I’m going to make sure my class see this and have a chance to respond first.

Leave a Reply

