Which words disturb you? | Michelle Pauli | Books | guardian.co.uk

Media_httpstaticguimc_bwzfd

I find my mind playing tricks like this with words all the time. I don’t think the idea of the words ‘disturbing’ me is always true, but certainly I can scarcely look at something like a shop sign or advertising hoarding without finding some alternative way of reading it. Often I think my re-orderings are pretty idiosyncratic. For example I can’t look at a ‘Staples’ shop front without mentally reading ‘Strapless’ which requires two extra consonants.

With regard to examples like ‘therapist’ being read as ‘the rapist’, I came across a website once that listed unfortunate web site addresses. It included a site for IT experts to share their expertise, at www.expertsexchange.com. Some of the funnier ones I daren’t share here!

The Telegraph did an article on a book of these: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/7787167/Hilarious-web-addresses-reveale…

but a quick Google will reveal plenty more.

If you think about, there are some interesting issues around lexical division, morphology and syntax to be explored here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

